New Year, New Cubicle, New Dance Happenings

It has been a while since I’ve posted here, and wanted to update y’all on current dance happenings. In addition to my cubicle location changing (I now work at MassArt and thankfully am surrounded by art and artists all day), I am currently working with 16 dancers to create new choreography for National Choreography Month (Nachmo)!

Image

Nachmo Rehearsal

This year in Boston, almost 20 choreographers are putting their nose to the grindstone for Nachmo 4. I started participating in Nachmo 3, having been inspired by videos from the previous year, where dancers committed to creating new phrases each day. I am excited by the call to put aside all excuses, objections, and barriers to choreographing for the month of January.

This year, in addition to creating new work and challenging myself, the most exciting yield of Nachmo 4 is the networking connections that are brewing in preparation for an inaugural informal showing of work I am organizing. Green Street Studios, a non-profit center for movement and dance, is excited to host the event and support the continued development of dance-making in Boston.

If you are in the Boston area, we are still open for a few more choreographers to participate, and hope you can attend the show and support dance making in our community.

Nachmo Boston Informal Showing
February 16th, 7:30 – 9:00pm
Green Street Studios
Cambridge, MA
Register to present work
*Ticket info coming soon

Looking forward to sharing new choreography with you in 2013!

– Jessica

Leave a comment